Ask the Gardener: Emma

December 2021

Every month we will ask one of our wonderful community gardeners some questions about their own gardens and gardening habits. Hopefully you’ll find some inspiration in their answers. If you’d like to share some thoughts about your own garden, please get in touch.

This month we heard from Emma.

Tell us about yourself:

I am a nurse educator in Cancer Services at University College Hospital (UCH). I am married to Stuart who is a Director of the Stem Cell processing Facility, also at UCH. We have two sons who are both at university and a crazy cocker spaniel called Spencer.

Where do you live?

Great Wymondley

Favourite plant or flower?

Perennial geraniums

Favourite season?

Spring or Autumn, I can’t choose between them.

Perennial geraniums

How often do you get out to the garden?

Most days that I’m not working, definitely more in the Spring/Summer. I also have an allotment in Gosmore.

What do you enjoy most about gardening?

I just love watching things grow, especially perennials that seem to disappear in winter and then surprise you all over again. I also love growing veg (with mixed success).

What’s your favourite and least favourite job in the garden?

Favourite job is planting new things, seeds, plugs, bulbs or plants (although Stu says I never dig a big enough hole). Least favourite job is pruning because I’m never quite sure whether I’m doing it right!

If you could have any type of garden, what style would you have?

I’m more of a ‘survival of the fittest’ type of gardener. I like an eclectic mix and don’t really have a type as such. I can always find space for more and I’m a sucker for rescuing plants from the bargain corner at garden centres. The garden here is kind of a cottage garden which is lovely. We’re attempting to develop a strip of wild flower meadow and I’d love a jungle area although it might not quite work here.

Where do you get inspiration for your gardening from?

My mum, she was my gardening guru and I inherited my knowledge and love of plants from her. I miss her very much and always feel close to her in the garden.

What is the biggest challenge when you garden? 

Not enough time!

What is your favourite gardening tool and why?

My weeding knife because it gets down really deep and my secateurs because they’re my most used tool.

What flowers and plants remind you most of the festive season and why?

Holly and mistletoe because I love their simplicity and contrasting berries. And they are just fun!

Chrysanthemum

If you could rid the world of one plant or weed, what would it be?I’m not a fan of chrysanthemums as I find them quite uninspiring and boring. I wouldn’t rid the world of them though, they are very popular with lots of people!

What wildlife do you most look forward to seeing in the garden?

Blackbirds, they have the most beautiful song, one of my favourite sounds in the world.

Our gardening club sessions are held from 9am-12pm on the third Saturday of every month. Free to attend and all ages and abilities welcome.

Please follow us on Instagram or email us for information on how to get involved and upcoming events:

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started