Ask the Gardener: Nicky

January 2022

Every month we will ask one of our wonderful community gardeners some questions about their own gardens and gardening habits. Hopefully you’ll find some inspiration in their answers. If you’d like to share some thoughts about your own garden, please get in touch.

This month we heard from Nicky.

Tell us about yourself:

I moved to Great Wymondley many years ago, too many to recall, for it’s rural location and easy commute to London as a broker. When I started a family, with two young children, the commute stopped being so attractive. More recently I’ve travelled a lot for business and being so close to Luton airport was a bonus.

Favourite plant or flower?

I’m not sure I have a favourite plant as many different plants come to mind; although, I do love poppies, especially when they grow alongside fields of corn.

Favourite season?

Would probably be Autumn, with it’s softer hues of colour everywhere.

How often do you get out to the garden?

Not as often as is needed. I go out with good intentions to tackle a particular ‘job’ and get side-tracked. This means my garden is always crying out for some tender loving care.

What do you enjoy most about gardening?

I think I enjoy the whole process of planting a seed and seeing the results. I particularly like my dog, Flash, wandering around with me (I feel like Monty Don). Although Flash’s obsession with running away with hand tools can be challenging. The whole process of growing vegetables and then harvesting them for the table I find particularly rewarding.

What’s your favourite and least favourite job in the garden?

I am a rather random gardener and just love to potter. Over many years of cutting the grass, that has become my least favourite job. It is satisfying to see a nice cut lawn but takes a lot of time away from ‘pottering’.

If you could have any type of garden, what style would you have?

I would love a country cottage style garden with lots of different heights of plants and colours all through the year. It would also have to include lots of trees with areas to sit and relax.

Where do you get inspiration for your gardening from?

I like to see other people’s gardens and develop ideas from them that work. However, time limitation generally means my enthusiasm doesn’t match the effort to complete a task. I have a recycled greenhouse that is still awaiting the installation of it’s glass.

What is the biggest challenge when you garden? 

Time!

What is your favourite gardening tool and why?

I have recently replaced my secateurs and loppers with a lot better quality ones to trim back a living willow fence I planted many years ago. I am looking forward to making time to make sculpture out of willow.

Loppers
Secateurs

As we start the new year and the weather gets brisker, what types of jobs do you line up for this time of year to get the garden looking great in the spring?

I am trying for a more relaxed view over the winter months to allow wildlife to hideout over the winter months. I do like to plant bulbs; there is always a surprise when they appear in Spring.

If you could rid the world of one plant or weed, what would it be?

I don’t know enough about gardening to want to destroy anything. Most plants have a purpose, although sometimes it is well hidden. 

What wildlife do you most look forward to seeing in the garden?

In my previous garden we enjoyed foxes, deer and badgers but here I love to see lots of different birds in the garden and have a particular fondness for Robins.

Our gardening club sessions are held from 9am-12pm on the third Saturday of every month. Free to attend and all ages and abilities welcome.

Please follow us on Instagram or Facebook or email us for information on how to get involved and upcoming events:

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started